Daily Archives: December 11, 2012

The Lick Of Love

One of the plentiful problems with multiple hamsters of both genders is that the smells confuse them all.
Let me try to explain this better.
When I hold Eve for a bit, she snuggles on my hand and has a wonder around for a bit before I plop her back into her bed. Ahhh isn’t that lovely. Well yes, that is all very lovely until I then hold one of the boys.

Casper

This is the ‘Im gunna lick you’ face.. The eyes all squint up and the nose burrows down.

Now after holding a girl, unbeknownst to me, she leaves her scent on everything she touches (this isnt the smelly-smelly female hamster stink, this is the general female hamster stink that is invisible to humans).
This not only sends both of the boys into a frenzy, but they have a terrible habit of ‘licking’ my hand clean! All that female hamster stink is literally licked clean! And I didnt even have to get up!

I can only describe having your palm licked by a hamster as nerve-wrecking!
Dexter isn’t such a bad licky-ham. He is a bit slobbery but he doesnt bother me too much and the fact he sits still for longer than 10 minutes is a godsend! 😛

Casper on the other hand **bad dum tss** hasn’t quite got the etiquette of licking mastered yet. He uses his teeth to lick so its actually more of a biting, nibbling motion. It kind of tickles for a bit.. until he gets inbetween your fingers – right on that fleshy web bit inbetween your fingers and he ‘nibbles’ that. Now that, ladies and gentlemen, is not a pleasant experience!

A quick squeal and a flick of the wrist and he’s off licking the next surface that Eve happened to traipse by.

Oh to be a hamster, Such simple beings!

xxxx

Categories: animals, blogging, Care, funny, General, Hamsters, humor, Love, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.