Lullabies & Sawdust


Firstly before I start waffling on about Dexter, I would like to thank a few bloggers who have really supported me through the loss of the babies. It may seem like a while ago now for some readers but its still a very fresh memory form myself. The Giraffes Hat dedicated a wonderful post to Hamster Diaries as well as Hutch a Good Life also posting a beautiful few words about the lost bubs.
I cant thank you all enough. Seriously, my faith in the human race is restored! You are WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL people and you should know that you have made a very sad pet-lover comforted through the hardest time. 🙂

Onto my babblings now 😀

So here in the UK we are having a nice and toasty few days (YAY I can crack out my short-shorts for the second time this year!) which for me, is wicked! For Dexter and pets in general, the heat can have a funny affect on our furry friends. If you cast your minds back you may remember a post I did on how to keep your pets cool on hot summer days? Well thats just a reminder for curious bloggers as the heat has effected my Dex, not in a bad way – but in a cute way!

Like myself, he decided not to sleep with his duvet on, opting for the cooler sawdust setting. [Duvet/nest… same thing!]

This left his royal cuteness cool and open to some nosey girl with a camera!
Oh wait thats me!

I didnt really disturb him! He was in the land of lullabies by this stage. My camera didnt bother him at all!!! 😀

Okay so he may have shuffled a bit when I got too close.
But that only left me to capture an equally as cute picture of a very sleep hamham groggily curling up in the corner!

I think the plastic was refreshingly cool on his back so he pushed up against it a little.

Whatever he was doing… it was cute!
It almost makes up for the fact that yesterday he was an annoying little shit tinker, and wouldnt sit still for longer than a millisecond. Yes I have syrian hamsters, what do I expect? *sarcasm* But usually he’s affectionate and slow and likes to be snuggled whereas the past few days he has been a ham-on-a-mission for some reason..
Maybe its that heat thing again.

Hey hoe!
The hunt for a new addition continues. Fingers crossed time will tell and there will be another happy beginning to this blog! 😀 Wonderful times ahead people wonderful times! 😀

I may also have an idea brewing (from The Giraffes Hat) of a give-away competition when I hit my next follower milestone… hmmmm interesting!
I think I shall save that for tomorrow 😉
Tempt and tease… tempt and tease!

xxxx

Categories: animals, Hamsters, humor, Love, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Lullabies & Sawdust

  1. Very cute. My pigs have been drinking more, sleeping more and not eating as quickly in this heat.

    • Aww, they are typical signs of the heat. Keep a eye on them, heat stroke acts really fast on animals 😦

      • Thanks for your advice. One of my piggies likes playing dead, (he lays still with his eyes open) and I have to wake him up sometimes just to check he is actually still alive. Naughty piggy.

  2. Whee are just glad you are feeling better! Where abouts in the UK are you? Whee are Kentish piggies so if you are near us whee can recommend a couple of good rescues! Whee are also enjoying the sunshine!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    • Im in Hertfordshire, I thought that places would be overwhelmed with unwanted hamsters but alas, there arent any within 50 miles of my location weirdly. :/ I even checked out Gumtree and there really isnt much close to me ;/ I will keep on the lookout 🙂 xxx

  3. Aww how cute!! Have you tried looking on Preloved for a new baby hamster? We got our mice from someone on there and we were really happy with them! Preloved is a bit like gumtree, people go on to sell their items and pets!

    • I havent even heard of it actually, I shall look it up 🙂 Wow! I have checked gumtree and theres not a lot of local activity on hamsters at the moment, have kept checking but no luck so far. 🙂

      • Good luck, hope you have better luck on Preloved! Is there any in your area on there? 🙂

        • There are a few russians but the nearest syrian is abou 40 miles away so again, i will keep looking but nothing has been realistically close :s Something will come up and it will be ‘meant to be’ 🙂

          • Aww thats a shame. I’ve wanted a Syrian hamster for ages but as we have mice we’re thinking we should wait… Well, my partner does, I want one now!! :p

  4. Dexter looks so cute I want to lick him – carefully, though, so I don’t accidentally eat him. Adorable sweetness!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • hahah your lick would be welcomed cupcake! 😀 Sometimes when i give him a lil kiss on the head i give him a damp head :’) i must be like the nans who give slobbery kisses that everyone tries to avoid… damn ;)xxx

  5. I’m sure I speak for everyone here when I say that we know it is just a short while since your terrible loss. Our hearts thoughts and prayers remain with you.

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.