Dexter and Casper The Friendly (Hamster) Ghosts


The one heartbreaking thing about hamsters is their very short life expectancy. With the average hammy living between 2 and 3 years, it can sometimes feel very brief when they go over the rainbow bridge to hamster heaven.

I am very sad to announce that both Casper and Dexter are now up in the clouds.
It’s officially official, the original HamsterDiaries crew is no more..

Dexter passed away near the end of last year. He was the oldest of the 3 and had me fooled he would live forever but at his ripe old age it was time for him to sleep and he peacefully passed while being cuddled and tickled.

RIP Dexter

Caspers passing wasn’t quite so black and white as he suffered from an illness in the weeks leading up to his death. I will be posting more about this soon as I think it will be helpful for other owners to see what happened.

RIP Casper

It has been a few months since I lost the two boys, in fairly quick succession I might add, which made the time even worse.
I know they are only little hamsters and as one vet once said ‘dispensable‘, but I grew very fond to these fuzzy little critters. Not only were they fabulous pets and adorable company, they opened up an entirely new world of blogging which I had struggled to break into for so long! I had started and given up on numerous failed blogs before starting HamsterDiaries back in May 2012.
When I got Dexter, blogging just seemed to click into place. And the best thing about it was, other people loved it too! It wasn’t just me who owned these hamsters and saw their lives panning out, it was the whole world! It started as a modest 4 reads on the first day. I think I managed to get 12 reads by the end of the week (granted I think 11 of them were my mum refreshing the page in moral support) but the point was I loved writing and I loved the hamsters more and it worked. I now have hundreds of subscribers and hundreds of thousands of reads!

All this time later I can honestly say, writing this blog was hands down the best thing I have done. I genuinely miss these little hamsters, their personalities and the adventures they got up to on the blog and off the blog. Looking back at the hundreds of photos and posts, I have a wonderful tribute to these pets.
And I couldn’t be more proud.

What is next for HamsterDiaries I hear you ask.. You can’t have a hamster blog and not have a hamster!
Well there is a silver lining to this somewhat solemn post.
There is a new member to the crew. Picking up where Eve, Dexter and Casper left off..Starting a new chapter in HamsterDiaries.

Who is this adorable little fella?!

All shall be revealed!

I look forward to posting again soon, keep them eyes peeled. Make sure you subscribe – you don’t want to miss this!
xx

Categories: animals, blogging, General, Hamsters, News, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Dexter and Casper The Friendly (Hamster) Ghosts

  1. Whee are so very sorry for your losses. Over the time whee have followed you, it feels as though whee have got to know you and the hammies so well and feel like you are almost family!

    Whee are intrigued to meet this new furry friend taking up the bloggy mantle where the others left off.

    Hoping you are well ❤

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

