Hello Chubby Cheeks


The phrase ‘your eyes are too big for your belly’ gets knocked about a lot these days.
Clearly these people have never seen a hamster at dinnertime…

There is no such thing as too much dinnerย in hamster land- a mantra I wish I could manage! ๐Ÿ˜‰Dexter Stuffing His Face

And just to prove it to you, here is Dexter stuffing his face to the absolute maximum.
There is no need for photoshop, this is genuinely happened…ย 

Oh and thats a sliceย of apple hes attempting to stuff into his massive mouth. Unsuccessfully attempting to stuff I might add.

I think its fair to say that hamster cheeks are the most iconic thing about these critters.
Its actually a very clever little adaptation.
On both sides of a hamsters jaw there is a kind of internal sack that reaches the top of the hamsters shoulders. Hamsters are hoarders and they use these little sacks to stuff all kinds of food in. Keeps it safe from other thieving creatures, or owners ๐Ÿ˜›

Tasty bedding! :PIn addition to food hoarding, I have found that every hamster I have owned has used their cheeks to soften bedding and to help them nest. I even posted a photo of Dexter doing this very thing in a post from 2012.
In the bedding goes, and then they regurgitate it all out so to speak and smoosh it into their bed. I would try to mimick this with my pilow, but highly doubt it would have the same affect ๐Ÿ˜›

I wonder how much food a hamster could really stuff into their cheeks? I might have to look into that ๐Ÿ˜›

If you haven’t already then make sure you are following via email. You can chose whether you get an email every time there is a post or even weekly emails to show you what you’ve missed in the week, its all up to you. All I know is, you’ll never miss a cute hamster update again!

xx

Categories: animals, blogging, funny, Hamsters, Health, humor, News | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Hello Chubby Cheeks

  1. That’s so cute. Albus, my hamster does that all the time!
    In fact last night he attempted to stuff am entire chew stick into his mouth, an entire cookie, and a half of a hamster doughnut along with the rest of his food!!

  2. OMG, Dexter! Those cheeks are ridiculous! I wish my cheeks worked like that, even though Mom swears they’d be stuffed with cigarette butts, candy wrappers, sticks, and French fries, since I will eat absolutely anything.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • HAHAHAHA oh Cupcake, I am sure you would still look adorable as ever with all that round your mouth (although maybe stick to the humans treats – they’re usually a lot tastier I hear) ๐Ÿ˜› xxx

  3. WOW! And I thought this little piggy was good at cramming food in my mouth – snorts. Way to go Dexter! XOXO – Bacon

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

