Eves Final Resting Place


Everybody has a different way of commemorating a pets death.

For my hamsters in the past, I have always respected their deaths in the same way.
I put their nest in a box and bury the box in my garden.
To mark the grave I place a ceramic toadstool at the head of the grave.

Friends and family cant help but laugh at all the ceramic toadstools lined up at the back of the garden (not that I am a psycho hamster killer or anything morbid like that, just that a childhood of pet hamsters with a lifespan of 2-3 years means that there is a big family of hamsters in the garden resting in peace). Each and every hamster I have ever owned is buried and remembered in my garden in this way and that is the way I think it should be.

Every pet is a member of the family, no matter how small. And every member of the family deserves to be treated the same.

Eve is now the proud owner of this cute orange toadstool 🙂

Hamster Grave

She can now rest in peace alongside the other hamsters that were equally as beautiful and cute pets. I should also point out the plants and grass all grows back over the summer to make this look a little more natural. As this has been done recently, its still a little muddy and bare. But that fixes itself.

How do you remember your pets?
Let me know in the comments bit below. 

Much love xx

Categories: animals, Hamsters | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Eves Final Resting Place

  1. What a lovely way to remember them. My way varies. When we lost Nutty, I bought a small locket and put his pigture in it and had ” always in my heart ” engraved on the back. With Nibbles I bought a silver guinea pig charm for my bracelet. But before then I used to buy a herb plant to grow in the garden and feed the other piggies with as a sort of circle of life thing. I also plant the tulips in the garden in the shape of the first letter of each of their names.

    We all have our ways of remembering our pets passed.

    ~ Amy

    • What a wonderful way to celebrate Nuttys life, carrying him close to your heart 🙂 That is actually such a sweet way of doing it, you always have the comfort of having them close that way.And the herb plant was a very sweet idea too. Such creatively thoughtful ways xxx

  2. Stormy

    That is such a beautiful idea!!!!! All those lovely ceramic mushrooms (I have a thing about mushrooms anyway!).

  3. When I lost my goldfish, we did not just flush her down the toilet like a lot of people do. We buried her in our garden (Her name was Sally) and we bought a tombstone that said “Love” on it and put it near the place she was buried. We also wrote on the tombstone, our memories of her and what we loved about her and much more happy thoughts. I will forever remember my goldfish Sally 🙂

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Blog at WordPress.com.

