Eve the Artist


We all know, or have heard of, the inspiring story of the elephant artists.
These real elephants paint unique artworks using a paintbrush held in their trunks. How clever right!!! πŸ˜€

Above, is an actual piece of elephant art – super impressive!! It has now become quite the trending thing with elephants all over the globe turning their hand trunk to painting!

Well now, its no longer just the elephants that are creating their own artworks.

Eve has broken down the animal/art barrier and has created some masterpieces (if I do say so myself).

Now they may not be quite as picturesque as the elephants handywork I’ll admit, but what Eve has come up with, could potentially be the pioneering abstract artwork that is HAMST-ARTWORK!Β 

This is what I’m on about…

“The Confused Rainbow” by Eve 2012Β©

That right there is the first HAMST-ARTWORK that has been seen by human eyes πŸ˜€
The piece is called ‘The Confused Rainbow” because its all very colourful but not in the conventional rainbow way (hahaha look at me getting all arty!!)
I cannot take much credit for this piece as it was all Eve’s paw-work.

But HOW did a hamster create such a wonderful picture, I hear you ask!
Well let me show you how she did it.
I have got an free app on my iPad called ‘Drawing Box‘. It gives you a blank canvas and pencils and paints etc to create pictures at your fingertips. Well I am not good at drawing. The best I can do is a smiley face or at a push, a flower which any self-respecting 5 year old would snigger at.Β 

So in a beautifully timed moment, Eve clambers onto my iPad screen and starts licking and walking across the blank canvas.

Well the heat from her little paws (and tongue) must have been enough to trigger a reaction on the iPad and so spikey, uncontrollable lines starting zooming across the canvas creating some of which you see above.
The only input I humanly had over the process was changing the colour of the ‘pencil’ so that when she climbed back onto the screen, a different colour would zoom across the page.

After a few minutes of frantic clawing, walking and licking, a masterpiece was made! πŸ˜€

In this picture of the artist at work, you can see her licking the screen which creates zagged lines across the page as the iPad gets confused at the heat signals of her paws and tongue.

The lines create the effect you see in the finished pieces.

Along the bottom of the shot you can see the paint pallet (it does extend with a total of 78 unique colours) which I would just select, on Eve’s behalf, and then put her back onΒ the screen to continue with her drawing.

Now the picture you actually see her ‘drawing’ in these pictures didnt save properly 😦
So I don’t have the finished article of this piece to actually show you BUT Eve didn’t stop there, she created another picture all in pink (shownΒ below).

So like I was saying before, she may not have quite the accuracy as the elephants but then she is lacking a trunk so all is forgiven in that department.

She really seemed to be fixated with the iPad screen.
I’m wondering whether I had something tasty on my fingers and then have used it on the screen, hence its clearly so tasty for Eve.

But we shall never truly know!

Anyways, here is the second artwork I have to show you all. This one was completely in PINK! And all the different shades of my favourite colour so this is right up there in my favourite Eve-Pics πŸ˜›Β 

“Pretty in Pink” by Eve 2012Β©

I am so proud of my artistic hamster πŸ˜€
And as yesterday was Remembrance Day (and we didn’t forget – it just didn’t occur to me how I could signify such a day on the blog until last night)Β with a little help from a human hand, Eve has drawn a very fitting tribute to the day.
After doing her thing on the canvas in just red, I used the rubber feature to rub out a poppy outline and then finished off the picture with a black centre dot.
And ta-dah there you have a Remembrance Poppy.

“A Poppy for Remembrance Day” by Eve 2012Β©

Do any of you folks out there have an iPad??
Search your app store for ‘Drawing Box FREE’ and give this a go with your furries! πŸ˜€
See what kind of artwork you can create – its so much fun you should really give it a go!!!
xxx

P.S. “Sorry, no autographs,” squeaks Eve.

Categories: animals, Art, blogging, crafts, funny, Hamsters, humor, Pets, technology | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Eve the Artist

  1. Such fun – love the artwork and the poppy πŸ˜‰

  2. Eve is BRILLIANT! Her artwork is a masterpiece. Mom has recently ordered a painting done by a blind dog, using actual paints and paper (AND she’s working on a story about that dog – http://hallieart.com )! Also brilliant! Drawing Box Free…. I have a feeling I know what I’ll be doing this afternoon…..

    Love and licks,
    Cupake

    • OMG WOW! πŸ˜€ How unique!! I think animal artworks are just so fabulous, I mean how more personal and original can you get?! πŸ˜€ I think you’d make a awesome artist Cupcake! πŸ˜€ xxxx

  3. Oh my, I now know a soon to be famous, hamster artist. How cool is that! Hope your iPad survives the process though.

    • πŸ˜‰ hehehe Yes I did very quickly scoop her up at several points just incase I saw the tell-tale-wee-wee-shuffle but she was very good. Wouldn’t dare let the boys on it though – I know their bladder habits all too well ;P

  4. That artwork is really good.

  5. Pingback: More bling? You’re making me speechless! « scienerf

  6. I love it! So cool and creative. I have been thinking for a while about letting Sophie doing some painting in her wheels, like wheel tracks. It’s going to be messy, but as soon as spring comes, we’re doing it:)

    • Hehe thank you, I think its a brilliant idea! Definiteyl a messy one but the pictures you could end up with would be awesome! I mean Eve isn’t quite there yet, but you could raise money for a charity and awareness for Sophie with pictures like that πŸ™‚ And if not, then its just awfully good mucky fun πŸ˜€

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

