Drunk?! I’m Just Taking My Hamster For A Drive Officer!


I love it when hamsters randomly pop up in news stories. The latest hamster news had me stunned. You actually cannot make this cr*p up! ๐Ÿ˜€

I got this article from the Metro and provided you all with the link to the online article at the end so you can check it out for yourselves!

Police in the US took a hamster into ‘protective custody,’ after it was found running free in the car of a suspected drunk driver.

In the early hours of Tuesday morning, officers in Oregon pulled over a driver suspected of driving under the influence. Whilst chatting to ย the driver, the officers noticed that there was a hamster in her lap! She then put the hamster on the dashboard and was prominently arrested.

And get this, it took 3 offices to re-capture the little hamster from inside the car! Now that is a scene I’d like to see on ‘Cops with Cameras’ ๐Ÿ˜€ย 

The driver didnt know why she brought the hamster on the trip and even claimed to have no-one to come pick the critter up so they should ‘just kill it’ !!! ๐Ÿ˜
The police did not harm the hamster in any way but the furries whereabouts has not been stated in the article.

I hope its with a loving owner now, not someone who can so readily condemn it to death and endanger it like she did. Why this woman had a hamster in the first place when she is in no frame of mind to properly care for a pet is beyond me! Grrr!

This post actually coincides with a post from a fellow blogger that was on the topic of petย abandonment…
This poem by HutchAGoodLife is a fabulous and moving piece of writing and this latest hamster news has just made me want to share it more! Not quite hamster abandonment but with the same message and meaning to it.

Love your pet, give ’em and loving squeeze and don’t let them go.
They are family members not accessories.

Read the full article here!

Categories: animals, blogging, General, Hamsters, humor, News, Pets, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Drunk?! I’m Just Taking My Hamster For A Drive Officer!

  1. For goodness sake! Mad person.

  2. That poor furry. I am sure it would be getting a prince of life if left in your hands!

  3. What an idiot. Mummy won’t even hold us in her hands while in the car, let alone have us running free in the car. Thanks for mentioning our poem.

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • Its so stupid isnt it! Its just irresponsible. small furries easily get spooked or just want to explore. Trying to control a figgety hamster in your lap is hard enough, without trying to drive at the same time! You’re welcome, it fitted with this post and thought it deserved a shout ๐Ÿ™‚ xxxx

  4. People are crazy!! Ugh!

  5. And these crazies roam wild among us

  6. Thanks for sharing this. How awful she said to kill it, that’s nasty – I’m being polite! On your note about squeezing your hamster lovingly, just to add, please squeeze them gently as they are delicate. When I was very young, I had a friend who was very young and she squeezed her hamster to death by accident. Not a nice picture I know. Sorry to bring this up but I think it needs to be said as some people don’t know their own strength.

    • Oh gosh so true! And an excellent point too! When I was little I had to be told I was cuddling too hard because their eyes would bulge a little ๐Ÿ˜ Thank goodness I learnt when I was young just how delicate they could be! Oh noo, your poor friend. I cant imagine the guilt of killing a pet ;S eep!

  7. Holy wow. I’m glad the hamster survived this ordeal. Sheesh!

  8. A horror story! I hope that this person never gets another pet; she does not deserve one!

    • Indeed! As do I, its people like this that scar animals for life and terrify them so badly they end up being aggresive which makes them harder to rehome and from no fault of their own ;/ peoplle can be so inconsiderate when it comes to animals!

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Blog at WordPress.com.

