The “Space” Dilema


For a little while now I have been super duper tempted to upgrade the hammys cages. I feel that they may need a little bit more space, Dexter especially as he loves to run like no other hamster Ive seen.
Their cages are fine as they are, I am aware of that.
And to buy new cages for 3 hamsters is going to be expensive as hell so would have to be done one at a time anyway. Its all going against me. I want them to have more space… but my purse and the amount of room a bigger cage will take up are the killer factors.

Arghhh! Such a dilema! I dont know what Im going to do!

I have seen some pretty awwwwesome home-made cages; you remember Hammy Happenings, that blog I was ranting about earlier this week? Well the customised cage on their is impressive. I just dont think I can even begin to make something anywhere near as good!

I am thinking a homemade cage is the angle I should go for. I have a shelf for measurements and would be able to make it fit perfectly. But then Id need plastic and space for their BIG saucers and arghh it seems like so much hassle!

Advice anyone??

Categories: animals, blogging, crafts, Hamsters, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “The “Space” Dilema

  1. Whee would say, if you have the space then go for it. You are obviously creative with those great bags you have designed so why not?!

    Mummy would make us homemade C&C grid cages if she had the space but shop bought one’s can be customised too. One of Mummy’s friends used her sewing skills to make fleece tunnels and fixed them securely between the current cage and a new smallish cage. The result, a hammy adventure playground! She did use plastic guttering to make the tunnels stay open and safe but other than that whee don’t know much about it.

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • See thats what i want! a hamster playground 😛 Ive looked up some of the stuff I would need and I am just not sure I am quite cut out for it all. I would be terrified of using materials or something that could harm them 😛 But then the savings I could make are just HUGE, I mean everything I spend on one hammy I have to spend on the other 2 timesing everything I buy by 3 effectively and its just not remotedly within my budget! Im thinking a few homemade toys for now and then see how the pennies stack up 😀 xxxxx

  2. We have a homemade C&C cage – they’re realleh easeh to make mummeh says. Would they work for hamsters too?
    Piggeh kisses,
    Poppy and Clover
    xxxxxxxxxxx

    • Im not sure, I am worried Ill end up using something that could be harmful for nibbling hamsters. I think I have come to the decision I shall kit them out with homemade toys for the time being and upgrade their cages when I get a few extra pennies! 😀 xxxxxxxx

  3. I like the idea or tricking them out so they’re more fun. Building cages sounds like a lot of work, and then there’s the worry that they’re not right or dangerous somehow. Yikes. Good luck.

  4. I just made ANOTHER bin cage last night. But I plan on stacking them so Strawberry has two levels. I photographed my process and am making a WP page on Bin cage making. Or at least just my experience with it. Not a “this is how you should do it for success” but more like …”If you want to know how I did it here you go – take what you will from it and improve upon this!….” type of page.

    It’s hard for me because even if I had the extra cash to just blow on bigger cages I couldn’t around here because they have crap for cage selection in the U.S. For Syrians they don’t sell any big enough. For Dwarfs they don’t sell any big enough AND with the right bar spacing.

    Bin cage making is pretty much the only choices we in the U.S with hamsters have for a choice. I spent a lot on the cage for Bob but felt it was worth it because I am sure I’ll always have keep a Syrian friend to live in for years upon years of my life.

    • chaoticscribbles

      I love how your bin cages look, seriously! They are the dream cages for my three!! I love how youve personalised them too, theyre fab! I checked out a link from your site to bin cage making and I think I may have to have a quick scoot round the stores to see if i can get the stuff together for a cage. Definietly back on the cards! When I was looking for shop cages, I was looking at rat cages to get the kind of size I wanted, but theyre so expensive and the bars are a tad wide, which isnt so good for escappee-wannabes! 😛 x

  5. Did you see the bincages being stacked? Great way to save space. My ladies have a cage that could fit 7 rats (and rats need about 3 times as much space as hamsters), but I’ve stacked the cages. It’s high, but not very wide. Works for me!

    • chaoticscribbles

      Wow your ratties are living the luxury life right there 😛 hehe, I definitely am thinking of stacking them. I just need a way to connect them with using the plasticy tunnels – they’re all a hit thin for Syrians and the rat ones are huuuuuge for Syrians haha there’s not a sensible middle ground. Perhaps I should make a little stair case 😛

      • kokoruma

        We don’t have rat ones over here, we have ferret ones that would fit a small rabbit! I used corners from plumbing pipes and REALLY thick card-board rolls I took from work. You could try Pringles packages and get the bottom out?

        • chaoticscribbles

          That’s actually genius !! I’d get to munch a tube of Pringles and not feel guilty about it because theyd have a tub at the end of it 😛

          • kokoruma

            My budget is so minimal, I am always looking for ways to recycle. I tried making swings and houses out of jerrycans from the juice I buy but they weren’t into those. Koko would get stuck in a pringles tube haha!

            • chaoticscribbles

              I think they are the best toys though! Because even when they get destroyed ( which with rodents is only a matter of time) you can make another one without splashing out 😛 awww koko! Haha no Pringles tubes for her! Just shows the difference in size between rats and hamsters 😛

              • kokoruma

                Yeah that and the fact that Koko is a fatty. But I can’t put her on a diet unless I seperate them AND clean everything they have hidden around the studio…

                • chaoticscribbles

                  As long as she’s healthy you shouldn’t have to put her on a diet 😛 it’s only if it starts to affect her mobility and stuff I would worry! Rodents run around enough to burn all that excess fat off normally 😛

                  • kokoruma

                    She doesn’t seem to lose any wait, but yeah, she’s active and runs around like crazy when she gets the change. I just caught her in the wheel but she just sniffed it and climbed out again… such an idiot 😛

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Hahaha what a free spirit she is! 😀 aww conventional wheel exercise isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, do your two climb the cage bars and monkey bar across the roof ?? Or is that just my bunch 😛 hahaha

                    • kokoruma

                      No they do do that, mostly in the bottom cage, they just projectile themselves against the bars when I am close and they want out. Which is always 😉 And then they do have 6 floors to climb, one of which is a straight vertical tube. So yeah… they get some exercise.

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Wow! They have a lush ratty-pad! My hamsters would get lost in 6 floors haha 😛 haha I have a funny image in my head of them throwing themselves at the cage bars till you play with them 😀 haha so cute!

                    • kokoruma

                      Uhm, yeah, that image is correct 🙂 And they will hang there until I stick a finger through the bars…

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Yummy! Stray finger! Hahaha so adorable! So glad you blog about them :))

                    • kokoruma

                      So glad you’re following 🙂 (off to bed now, got to get up at 5.30 am and we’re an hour ahead :P)

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Hehehe, boo for the half 5 start! G’nighttt ! 😀

          • kokoruma

            I always give them old boxes and stuff because I know they’re gonna wreck it anyways. They have so much fun gnawing through the card-board!

            • chaoticscribbles

              I got two Cheetos for the hamsters but they don’t really show it much interest. They are way too obsessed with running on their saucers 😛

              • kokoruma

                Cheetos as in the crisps?

                • chaoticscribbles

                  Hahaha was supposed to say chew toys haha! Not Cheetos 😛

                  • kokoruma

                    Ah lol. Well I mean, the ladies get some chocolate on very rare occasions (mostly when they steal it from me) too, so no judgement here. I just wondered what kind of toys they could be haha!

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Hahaha Casper was running on the sofa the other day and stopped to nibble something. Looked to see what he was munching and it was a haribo sweet! Had to snatch it off him, can’t imagine it doing him any good at all! ;S haha never tried them with crisps though, they’re all very fussy so can’t imagine they’d partake :p

                    • kokoruma

                      Really? Koko and Ruma have had chocolate, cookies, licorice, gummybears and pretzles. They just snatch it away from me.

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Hahaha maybe rats bellys are more robust, hamsters get runny bums if I’m not too careful and give them too much of something. And that can lead to alsorts of problems :s I try to keep them off most things, when they have managed to get hold of my sweet treats they are fine anyway. I know it’s recommended that they don’t though 😛

                    • kokoruma

                      It’s not like I give it to them in the cage but they have had some 😉

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Hahaha I think it’s cute! I bet they feel well naughty afterwards lol cheeky girls!!!

                    • kokoruma

                      Yeah, no they have weak stomaches too. Specially lettuce can actually kill them. But well, how much chocolate is there really on a M&M nuts? Which I have stopped eating btw (see my linky post). But this pair is the first that hasn’t had real diarrhea yet. I am proud 😉

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Hehehe your doing a great job with them then! That’s true there’s hardly any choccy on them. They prohs go hyper on it :p heheh, yeah lettuce is a no go for these guys too.

                    • kokoruma

                      Like I would notice them being hyper. When they aren’t sleeping, they are ALWAYS hyper. I love that they are always ready to play when I get home. No matter the time.

                    • chaoticscribbles

                      Awwww such a welcome site when you get home I am sure! 😀 SO CUTE!

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

