Monochrome Memories


I am no photography buff. I take lots of photo’s and I touch up some photos so they look brighter or more vivid but I repeat I am no photography buff.

But there is definitely something about black and white photography that I love. I don’t take black and white pics very often with the hamsters. They have vivid colours in their coats and they deserve being captured in bright technicolor!

But after snooping around WordPress on some photography blogs, I have discovered some truly stunning photography in black and white. Its not pet related but it is photography related. I just wanted to show you some superb examples of photography in black and white. Here are just 3 of my favourite;
thepottershand2011
Brisstreet
Megan Elizabeth Photography

I feel that black and white photography holds a certain peaceful quality to them. They are somewhat mystical and without getting too arty-farty they capture a stillness that just isnt quite there in coloured photos. They are simple and don’t have the distractions of bright colour and thats what makes black and white so interesting to look at.
This kind of photography is memorising.

Now I may have said it already, but with pets I am not quite sure black and white works out so well. They are too lively to be caught in such stillness, but I have tried it out anyways.
I was quite pleasantly surprised with the results. I found a more sophisticated side to my childish hammys. They look so serious and moody. It looks cool! 😀

I also like the how much the eyes stand out in the pictures. I think its because the pure black contrasts really well. I mean they stand out plenty in coloured pictures but in black and white they seem more definitive. 

I do have to say, I think the whole black and white thing should be done in moderation. I think my blog could get very tedious and boring if every post I posted was decorated with monochrome photos. Its not that they don’t look nice but these hamsters are beautiful colours and deserve to be shown off in colour.

Like I said at the start, I am no photography buff. I have no idea what makes a great black and white photograph, to be honest I don’t think I have to know! I like taking piccy’s of my pets and I can edit them using them simple sliders on my computer screen. Its not rocket science. I just wanted to try it. See what I got.

Do you like black and white photo’s of your pets?? 
Send me your monochrome snaps of your furries and I shall put a gallery post together in the next few days! 😀

Go to my contact page to find out how!

Categories: animals, General, Hamsters, Pets, photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Monochrome Memories

  1. Super cute pictures! Especially the striped shirt. I’m already black and white (and a little brown).

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Awww why thank you, Casper likes to huddle in my lap – seemed logical to get a pic of him there 😛 Send me a piccy of you in a thoughtful puppy-pose in b&w ?? 😀 furry huggles! xx

  2. Thanks so much!! I am new to Word Press so my site is constantly under construction and I’m still trying to figure out all the ins and outs… Also thinking about changing my name to Megan Moccasin Photography? I don’t know…. All works in progress… Thanks for your post: I love that you love animals as I am an animal lover myself. I have a chinchilla!! I’ll post some pics up of him soon… Cool blog you got there!!

    • I think ‘Megan Moccasin Photography’ is a great name for your blog, it will get your name out there and you can build up your own brand 😛 You have talent – you should claim it all as your own 🙂 Oooooh whats your chinchilla called?? You should email me your best b&w photo of him, I am putting together a post of submissions 😀 Thank you for checking it out and following too :))

  3. Thanks for the awesome feedback!! If I change the name to Megan Moccasin Photography, would you be willing to change your link that you ever-so-kindly posted? Also, do you know how to private message?? I’d like to talk to others about how to navigate Word Press a little better… My chinchilla is a black velvet and he’s 10 years old. His name is GONZO!! When is the deadline for submission?

    • Yes of course you just let me know when you have things set up and I can edit the links 🙂 There isnt a form of private messaging on WordPress, I have an email address for people to contact me but apart from that I rely on contact through comments. You are welcome to email me if you have any questions but I may not be much help 😛 Awwww Gonzo, thats adorable! I cant wait to see a snap of him! 😀 😀 There isnt a deadline as such, when I have a few together I’ll post them, next few days probably 🙂

      • So, I changed the blog name to Megan Moccasin Photography but it does not seem to be registering with Google, so I am conflicted. Also, is there a way to actually change the URL of my blog?? Thanks for your help!! I will let you know what I decide to do about the name…

        • Hmmm I dont know if there is a way to change the url without starting a new blog entirely. :s Im not sure, i googled it quick but didnt see a definite way of changing the whole blogs url. Excellent, if you do manage to change it let me know and I can change the link on this post 🙂

  4. Stunning photographs. I agree about the eyes standing out brilliantly in black and white.

  5. I’m like Cupcake – black and white – so I guess all my pictures are in black and white in a way. It’s nice to experiment with different kinds of photography and have different kinds of images. The black and white hamsters are nice, but you’re right – they do look beautiful in color.

    • It’s always great to try new things with photography. I’ve never really known what I’m doing half the time but black and white seemed like an achievable step 😛 I agree, especially for eve, she has such a Metallicy coat it’s nice to be able to show it off 😀

  6. Thanks for the honor 🙂 and for stopping by !!!

  7. Pingback: The Black & White Gallery « Hamster Diaries

  8. Pingback: Magical Monochrome Monday! | Hutch A Good Life

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Blog at WordPress.com.

