Hamsters In The News


Now I have never strayed too far from my own hamsters on this blog but after reading this story in the news, I couldnt help but post something about it. I have basically rewritten what I have read on online articles so quote noted my resources where appropriate πŸ™‚

A 10-year-old boy, Alex Dellamuro, from St. Ives in Cornwall, England, has started up his own business called Hamster Holidays which provides ‘five star’Β accommodationΒ for hamsters when their owners go on holiday.

He charges Β£1 per night for his furry guests and provides all critters with bottled water ( “but it’s not tap because I don’t like using tap water.” quoted from BBC news)

His guests must provide their own food, cage and bedding but Alex will provide the water, heat and a safe environment.

Wow! Firstly, congratulations to this young guy for taking some initiative during the school holidays. He has come up with an idea and people have shown an interest so massive brownie points for ‘Hamster Holidays’.

Secondly, I feel slightly mixed about the actual principal of his ‘business’ and Im not sure whether I am a bad person for thinking this – I mean the kid is 10 years old, I dont want to p*ss on his parade as such but taking his age out of the equation I would still feel the same.
I am just not sure I could trust a complete stranger to look after my pet!Β 

If I ever went away for a long time I would leave the hamsters with my mum, who loves them to pieces! I know she will take care of them and I could trust her to look after them properly and put up with the hamsters’ niggling bad habits etc. I am not sure I could bring myself to leave my beloved furry babies to someone I had never even met?
Does that make me a bad person?!

I understand for some people, a family member or close friend may not be an option. Especially if you are slightly bigger than rodent size and take up more room. So in that case I could understand the need for a service like this but even so are you telling me that pet-owners have NO friends to leave their furry babies to?!

Dont get me wrong, this boy has worked really hard to make this happen (e.g. fliers and online advertisement with the help of his mother) and I have so much respect for that but that just doesnt distract me enough from the fact that I would have to rely on (effectively) a child to take care of my hamsters.

I am clearly a very clingy person because I just cant bare to be apart from my hamsters for long which I can laugh at. I know I am a very attached human being but does that make me wrong?

I would love to hear what you guys would do? Would you use Alex Dellamuro’s ‘Hamster Holidays’?? Or would you leave your beloved furries with a family member/friend?? Answer the lil survey below for me and then comment your thoughts – I am dying to know what you think!

Categories: animals, General, Hamsters, humor, News, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Hamsters In The News

  1. Chani@GoodGirlGlasgow

    There’s a company in Glasgow which a couple run from their house called Fuzzy Butts, who do small animal holidays, and you even get photos of your pet having a nice time. (google them, it’s great!) I found them when I was checking out vets etc before I bought Heston. I thought it would be a really nice idea to set up a similar business when I retire. Anyway, I would send Heston there if nobody else could take him, but to a ten year old? I’m not sure.

    • Wow, looked it up it sounds very sweet and professional. I think this is where this ‘Hamster Holidays’ idea falls flat for me, it seems a bit chaotic perhaps. How is Heston doing?? Havent seen you about here for a whilee ?xx

      • Heston is great! I had a new friend over for dinner last night and as per usual, Heston stole the show. He’s so cuddly now that he’s a grown up hamster. I can sit and cuddle him and he falls alseep on me while I read emails, watch tv and so on! I have, indeed been a bit quiet on the old blogging scene lately. I’ve been cheating on my healthy living blog with knitting, baking and sewing! But I’m back for tonight anyway!xxx

        • Awww isnt that always the way! Whenever anyone comes over, right on cue one of the hamsters makes a noise and my guests are suddenly ‘AWWW SO CUTE CAN I PET HIM!?’ haha
          Awww that is ADORABLE!! Dexter has gotten to that stage, he literally curls up and snoozes (usually on my boyfriend but sometimes on me too! πŸ˜› Its so sweet when they do that :))
          Ohh naughty naughty! πŸ˜› Great to see you back, hope you check back again real soon πŸ˜€ xxx

  2. Good for the kid. I do understand your concern, although my one friends child, aged 12 now, has been the best pet owner I’ve ever seen. I would happily leave a pet of mine with her and know it would looked after fabulously. I even let her baby sit Sarah-Bell, the bottle feeder puppy I was fostering and wrote about in an earlier post, for a weekend. I knew she would help ensure the puppy was great with children (puppy was about 4 weeks old then).

    • But you still know the child right? You have that trust in the child because your friends with their parents so I see that differently too. Its huge trusting someone with a pet, its wonderful to know you have that someone who you know will take care of your animals πŸ™‚ Especially a 4 week old puppy! πŸ˜€ x

  3. HA! I can’t even vote because I have never left Cupcake with ANYBODY. If I go, she comes with me. That’s what pet-friendly hotels are for. I am even afraid to leave her at the groomer for a few hours! Kind of pathetic, I know…

    That being said, if I were a hamster owner and had nobody else to do the job, I would check out Alex, who seems smart, resourceful, and responsible, and MUST have an interet in hamsters to have started this business in the first place. I think talking to him for a while would tell the tale about whether he was knowledgeable enough

    • Aww cupcake you lucky thing you! You must be mighty special to be taken everywhere!! πŸ˜€ I dont think its pathetic, I think its a sign of how much you love them to pieces! Oh totally, he has his hamster, Smudge, who is in the photo with him so I am assured he has a strong interest – which is essential really! πŸ˜€
      I get the impression I come across as very untrusting – its not that I just worry about these hammys! I think losing 13 bubby hamsters may have made me uneasy about things being out of my control. Hopefully not a character flaw shining through 0.o

  4. I have two dogs and a cat, and live across the country from my family. As much as I don’t like to, we have to take them to a kennel when we go away. It isn’t my favorite thing to do, but it’s really our only choice. We always look around, visit first, and tell them about any quirks (allergies, etc) to make sure that they can handle it. My family owned a kennel when I was a child, so I look for something similar. I can see how that would be different for you though, it’s not like you would have a bunch to choose from!

    • I can understand that, you have no-one local to take care of your pets so kennels are the only option. When I had a dog as a kid, we had to leave her in a kennel whilst we went away and she was fine and dandy so they are very good places, I dont dispute that! And the quirks pets have make it even more important to have the right place to leave them too I suppose.

      • Yes, it’s all situational. We have found a few good ones, and always look for recommendations and reviews prior to visiting. It’s just one of those things, I guess!

  5. I would probably do it. Seeing the effort that this kid has put into it, he’ll be very determined to look after them properly. I’ve once let my hamsters stay with (my best) friend and she let one escape, never saw him again… And maybe his parents won’t let him have his own pets and this is the only way for him? I’d give him a chance πŸ™‚

    • I can see your reasoning πŸ˜€ Oh yeah theres no doubt hes worked hard and he has his family supporting him from the get-go so its not a passing fad. It has made the bbc news so its not been taken on lightly! This kid is serious.
      :O Oh noo!! I think it would be worse if someone I knew lost my hamster – you have the friendship to consider and then the decision to get mad or not comes into it – oooh dear! I believe he has a hamster – Smudge – the one in the photo with him. Hmm I may be reconsidering my opinion here :Px

      • haha πŸ™‚ But, if I would have a mom to take care of them I would prefer that too. Problem is that mine’s allergic to all furry things, and no-one in my family really likes animals anyway:( I was always the only one nagging for hamsters and rabbits πŸ™‚

        • Hahahaha the same is true of my dad, he was never a fan of hamsters and their ‘little wee feet’ hahaha πŸ˜› It just all depends on circumstances for each person I suppose, for some its perfect for others its not an option πŸ˜› xx

  6. If I have to go away, I will only let my parents look after my four gineapigs because they are the only people I trust and I give them instructions every time and phone them for pig updates. I also get pig sick because I miss them so much.

  7. Pingback: New Month, New Direction? « Hamster Diaries

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

