“You Can’t Have A Rainbow Without A Little Rain”


Knowing I had this blog through the last few weeks has been a blessing in disguise. There were days I didnt want to post because I was sad and upset and to be quite honest I didnt know what to say.
The sadness of losing a pet added to the fact I was having to inform hundreds of readers on a daily basis that yet another baby had died was immensely depressing to say the least. I felt I would be judged for neglecting them or worse!

In actual fact I couldnt have been more wrong. My lovely lovely LOVELY readers visiting the blog day after day to provide myself with advice, well-wishes and condolences which kept me going even on the darkest days of loss.
I have had some time to compose myself, cry a little more admittedly, and think ahead to whats next for Hamster Diaries.

What I almost forgot about was a video I posted on Youtube last Wednesday, before grief and heartbreak interrupted my happy bloggings.. I’d intended to post it a few days after but alas priorities changed.

I watched it back this morning and realised in a way I should be happy. My babies are no longer suffering with organ failures from which I could provide no comfort, and they are all now together in hammy-heaven.
This video was of Jeeves and Monty taking some of their first steps across the expanse of the double bed and their cage.
It uplifted me from a dark place and reminded me; they had a cared for life. I should be proud they made it so far with such difficulties looming over their tiny heads.

If you could take a moment to watch this video, Id be most grateful ๐Ÿ™‚

I dont know who said the phrase ‘you cant have a rainbow without a little rain‘ but it fit this situation perfectly.
A few bad times needed to happen first to make me realise what was important here. I have documented how things go wrong with baby hamsters unlike every other site expecting textbook results. Ive had to go through the heartbreak so that other readers may not have to because they’ll know what to do/what to look out for before things get too late!
I also now have a spare cage – something I am sure an abandoned or homeless hamster will be very comfortable in some time soon.

I want to take some positives out of this tragedy. I don’t want to grieve anymore (its draining me!) I want to celebrate the good things that have or will come out of this pickle!

No, I will never forget my unlucky 13, but that doesn’t mean I cant ever be happy again, does it!?

I have learnt a lot, more than any pet owner really should have to, and by doing this learning with a supportive network of bloggers and readers I think there will be owners out thereย benefitingย from my experience.

This blog will soon be back up-to-date with cheesy hamster photos and crazy stories of two forgotten celebrities.
Dexter and Eve.
Its about time they got the spotlight back!

Love ‘n’ hugs!
xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: animals, General, Hamsters, Health, Love, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on ““You Can’t Have A Rainbow Without A Little Rain”

  1. Well done you! Love the video – they moved so very fast for littlies. Great to have that as a memory. We most certainly look forward to the stars of the show returning ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • It was so lovely to suddenly remember I had uploaded it before things got in the way! Glad you enjoyed it too! ๐Ÿ˜› They most certainly look forward to the camera in their faces again Im sure ๐Ÿ˜‰ xx

  2. What a brave and strong person you are. What a pity that we cannot get a rainbow without the rain but I am extremely proud of all the effort and time you put in to do your best to help the babies.

    • Aww thank you so much, ๐Ÿ™‚ Never did I think this blog would have any real significance but there we have it, theres got to be a few hard times to make things worth while. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Boo for the empty cage, but YAY for the empty cage. It represents a lot – mostly a possible new opportunity. Exciting. That’s how Mom found me. It was in the sadness after losing her old dog, Smoki. I’m the rainbow!!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    PS We’re dying to see Eve and Dexter again.

    • Yes there may be a silver lining to this cloud indeed :)) A new opportunity, a chance for me to save a life even? You are the rainbow Cupcake!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thats wonderful, and Dexter and Eve you shall see ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ xxxx

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Blog at WordPress.com.

