Take it or leave it.


Before Hamster Diaries came along, I had started and failed at writing 5 other blogs.
I would get carried away in an idea and make a blog about it. It would flop after about 3 weeks and I would delete it and start over with the next idea.

When it came to this one, I finally had found something I felt passionate about. I had ideas for posts, layout, everything!
And unlike any of my failed blogs before, Hamster Diaries just clicked.
People from all around the globe were reading my posts. People were actually liking my writing. People were even following the blog πŸ˜€
It felt like I had hit the jackpot. Posts would flow, pictures would spark inspiration for further posts and everything snowballed from there!
And I am sure every other blogger would agree; theres no better satisfaction when you see someone has read your writing, liked and commented!

So when it came to telling my family that I had started a blog about my pets, I wasnt greeted with congratulations or very much support at all! I got a resounding ‘well who wants to read about a hamster?’ Β followed by laughter and snidey comments.
Everyone, except my mum who follows and reads this religiously, couldnt take me or my blog seriously and it was (and still is) incredibly discouraging.

Why cant a blog about a persons hobbies or interests validate an audience?
Seriously!?Β 
I know hamsters may not be the most serious subject to blog about but its what I love, its what I know about and its what makes me happy!
Im sorry that my posts dont tackle world peace or educated political debates.
I am just a pet lover who is sharing her passion for her pets and if you dont like it, dont read it!

I happen to have noticed some of the most successful, funny and relatable blogs all come from the pet-loving world.
Some of my favourites being:
http://rumpydog.com/
http://greyforaday.wordpress.com/
http://survivingwithsiberians.wordpress.com/
http://hutchagoodlife.wordpress.com/
http://animalcouriers.wordpress.com/Β 

So basically, this post is a thank you.
Thank you to all of the bloggers who have read, commented, liked and generally supported me and my little blog.
Your continued reading and feedback inspires me to carry on writing.
I may not get all the support in the world from the people around me but here, that doesnt matter because I reach people who feel the same way as I do about pets!

Keep reading WordPress and Ill keep writing!

xx

Categories: animals, General, Hamsters, Love, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Take it or leave it.

  1. Who needs another blog about politics? πŸ™‚ Your blog is funny, interesting and with that many ‘oooh so cute’ pictures I get a cuteness overdose every day! I can’t have pets myself because my mom is alergic to basically everything with fur, but at least I can read about them! So thank you πŸ™‚

    • Haha, that’s true! πŸ˜› aww thank you, that’s so lovely to hear!! :))) *blushes* that’s a shame about your mum, but I will do my best to bring you lots of cuteness and fluffiness so you won’t miss out of pethood. πŸ˜› thank you again for reading :))

  2. That is awesome!!! I love reading about your hamsters! People say that I should blog about my two hammies too, and you are an inspiration to me considering to do so, so I Thank you!!!

    • That is actually one of the nicest things I’ve heard :)) thank you for your support, you have no idea how much it means to me! Please blog about your hamsters! I would love to read πŸ˜€

  3. i wouldn’t worry about what your family thinks. Truth be told, you may feel some of their activities are silly. We are all different. If this is what you love, then do it. Regardless.

    • That’s actually such a good point, I never thought about it that way πŸ˜› I shall continue, i wasnt going to stop just getting family support means a lot πŸ˜› thank you for reading :))

  4. Writing is awesome because it has no bounderies. Write about what you love and enjoy. Otherwise whats the point? πŸ™‚ My son has two hamsters and he loved the pictures of yours!

    • Thank you :)) that’s so very true! Aww brilliant, what are his hamsters called?? I’m glad you and he enjoyed my blog :))

      • Well thats the funny part. He got his first hamster for his birthday last year and named him Rafiki. Then Rafiki the BOY had 11 babies!! We let him keep one of them and gave the others away. So now we have Mama and Baby. What can I say, we aren’t always creative! πŸ™‚

        • :O oh wow!!! Bet that was a pickle to sort out. I hear the pet shops aren’t very likely to take in baby hamsters. Aww at least it’s a happy ending. Did you rename rafiki ? πŸ˜›

  5. Support for my blog comes mostly from the online community as well. My family? Not so much. I don’t think they understood WHY I felt the need to write about myself and my life on the internet. They don’t get it. That’s fine. I don’t need their scrutiny anyway. Keep writing what you know and love. Heartfelt writing, no matter what the subject, is the best writing. When you’re sincere, others will feel it. And that’s obviously what’s happening on your blog. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for the lovely comment. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like this. Its funny how you assume the ones closest to you would support you the most but no, pets just isn’t their thing. Thats fine with me too. Some people don’t have the same opportunities as me or the same situations to do some of the things I do so blogging is such a release. Thanks for stopping by, keep blogging too :))

  6. I am yet to even tell my family (or friends) I have a blog. I know that they wouldn’t understand/ would make fun of me/ mock me/ discourage me etc.. so i dont tell them. Its not worth it. I mush prefer the support of other blogger just like you!

    • I know this should be the point I jump in and say ‘tell them’ but naaaah. I just get mocked, wish I’d never said anything πŸ˜› lol as long as you are happy and writing what you love then stick with it. You’ll always have my support :)) yay – bloggers unite!!

  7. I’m relatively new to your blog, and I LOVE it. I haven’t had a hamster in ages, but your down-to-earth spin and humorous take on the little guys is really entertainin, and the pictures crack me up. My dog, Cupcake’s blog has followers from all over the place, but my family and friends mostly can’t even figure out what a blog is, let alone follow or comment!

    • Hehe thank you :)) im so glad I made this post now. I was worried no one would quite get what I meant but it’s received such overwhelming support :)) see this is where the online blogging community steps in and provides cupcake with a worthy audience! Makes it all worthwhile

  8. Thanks for giving us a mention! Honestly though our Mummy has a similar issue. While her younger brothers love reading it and get their friends to, her parents are just humoring her thinking this blog will sink like her book review one. Fifty posts later and whee are going nowhere. She is even writing a book about our adventures! Writing about something you love is bound to be interesting to some people. If you want to see how big the pet blogger community is and can be search ‘blogpaws community’. It is American but you can see how huge the pet industry really is! πŸ˜‰

    Keep writing. Whee love our special hamster friends!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    • That’s okay you are a prime example of a pet-lover with an awesome blog on the topic! Wow congratulations of the 50 posts, I’m coming up to that one fast πŸ˜› hehe very true! It’s nice to read about pets to compare notes. “oh dear my pet does that too!” is the kind of reaction I aim to get out a post. Oh cool, thank you ill be sure to check it out – I’ve never heard of it, hehe I will keep writing πŸ˜€ lots of love to our guineapiggies :))) xxx

  9. Oh where to start. Firstly, you HAVE struck a chord with readers and found a little niche for your blogging and it feels so great doesn’t it! I have had the same experience starting and deleting blogs and this one has just clicked.
    It doesn’t matter what you find that sits right with you and readers, you are more than just this blog, this is just an added string to your bow, you’re a multi-faceted person you know!
    If blogging and hamsters aren’t your family’s ‘bag’ then their lack of comprehension would likely manifest in jokes. Please don’t take personally other people’s lack of understanding, and don’t let your passions be diminished because some people (doesn’t matter who they are, family/friends/strangers) aren’t on your wavelength.
    The single most healing realisation for me in my life was accepting that I and my father are so different I will likely never have his understanding. I just stopped involving him in my decision making process and now inform him of my actions not ask his advice on my impending actions. Life is so much better now I live for me and not his approval!
    I bet, like me, you have your family’s support just not – at this time – their understanding. It may come, and if it doesn’t you have a growing community of support online xxx

    • It does feel great. I check everyday to see if any hamster blogs have been made and as far as I can tell I’m the only one committed solitarily to hamsters πŸ˜› oh they support me hugely at every other turn but this blog just seems humorous to them. They just can’t understand that I like writing and people seem to like what I read . Just because it’s on a subject that I know a little something about and they classic as boring or whatever. Thank you for your kind words slowborg.
      And im glad you’ve found a balance between your dad and yourself when it comes to decisions. I feel that’s something I have in common with you also. :))

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

