Welcome to the World Baby Hamsters!


I can barely contain my excitement!

Eve yesterday gave birth to her litter of pups *HAPPY SQUEAK*

She poked her head out of the nest a few times during her labour and she looked very knackered, so I am a very proud owner as she did brilliantly! Her labour lasted about an hour an a half approximately although I cant be too sure because she stayed very hidden until they had all popped out and I wasn’t sure when she started!

The babies do look like aliens. I warn you, the pictures may gross some people out :P 

I can also reveal the number of babies that Eve is now proud mummy to.
The magic number is 13.
This was hard enough to count when they were wriggling about so when Eve got up to drink I took a quick snap of the nest (as it was opened up) and managed to count them from the photo alone :D

If you are struggling to count them (I did myself) I have outlined them :P

So looking back on the competition entries, noone was right! ;(
But incredibly close, with a guess of 12 was blogger ‘From a Montana Front Porch‘ so I think its a deserved winner!
You may name a baby! :D As I cant quite tell the genders yet, a unisex name could work out better but go for it! A hammy baby in your honour awaits!!! :D


They have all been happily suckling on mummy.
She has really been excelling herself in motherhood it seems. SO proud of her :’)

Some of her bedding is a little red from the labour but she has been very patient and gentle with the babies. She may have jumped and walked across thema  little like a bull in a china shop but I am led to believe this is pretty normal. Hamsters are tough little things :P

The next few weeks are going to fly by! Each day will bring so much for these babies as they develop so quickly! :D

Follow the blog to keep track of their progress. And remember you don’t even need a WordPress account, just an email address :P
Comment, share on Facebook and Twitter, spread the word about HamsterDiaries :D

Many thanks my loyal readers! :P
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (15 kisses from my 15 furries!)

Categories: animals, Hamsters, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Welcome to the World Baby Hamsters!

  1. Oh my goodness! AMAZING!!! What a happy mummy she must be.

  2. They look like such strange little alien beings when they first come out. I am so looking forward to watching them grow. Well done Mom!

  3. Ps I love the photo with the outlines. It looks like the most random colouring by numbers ever! How’s Dexter?

    • Hahahaha, it does actually. I couldnt count them very well, there were so many legs and noses we we adamant there were twelve and when i outlined them there was a cheeky thirteenth hidden away :)) Dexter is doing well, he got told instantly he was a daddy! He came and sat on my lap while i was gushing by Eves cageside :P

  4. They are absolutely beautiful. I wish I could lick them, but they’re so tiny, I might accidentally eat one thinking it was a cocktail frank! Congratulations!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • One lick from you and theyd all be gone! Theyre so small you may even choke on them :P Ill send them your love, non-slobbery love, :D xx

  5. Awwww. Love all the Eve and Dexter Bubbies!!!!!

    Lots more than whee thought. Though whee didn’t guess right if you want names whee are partial to Nibbles JR, Nutty JR, Bingo JR and Buddy JR. No particually reason for those names, whee just think they sound pretty cool. ;)

    Congrats on becoming a Grandma!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    • Hahahaha I wonder where you got them names from!! ;D Well I am fighting the boyfriend on names but I shall pitch these three with a passion! :D Thank you lil piggiesss!! :)) Im so happy! XD xx

  6. Congratulations you must be so proud. They all look adorable. :)

    • Incredibly proud :) And Eve seems to have adapted to motherhood beautifully so I have 15 very happy hamsters in my home :’) (Never thought I’d be saying that) xx

  7. Aww wow so many!! Congrats :) I can’t wait to see them all cute and fluffy!! <3

  8. Wooow such gorgeous babies *falls in love* makes me want baby pirates! (not squirrels!).
    So many babies I was not expecting that for a first litter!

    • Hehehe, they are so bootyfull! :O BABY PIRATES YES! Me neither, I first poked my head in just before 3ish and I counted 5 and I was like ‘YAY five babies!’ next thing another 8 popped out! Loves to challenge me ;) xxxx

  9. Yay!!! I will discuss the naming of a tiny one with my son and we shall let you know soon! :)

  10. This is so AWESOME! Wow!!! They do look like aliens. Or little tiny piglets. But they are going to be OH so cute in just a matter of days!!! So glad you will post the progress! How exciting!

  11. Pingback: Unconscious :’( « Hamster Diaries

  12. Pingback: Trainers Blog » Blog Archive » The Hamster Diaries ~ Featured Blogger

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

