How can you tell whether a hamster is a boy or a girl?


One of the most common things searched on my blog is this very question.
“How can I tell whether my hamster is a male or female?”

Pet shop owners make mistakes when checking the sex of a hamster so its always worth double checking your new hamster if you have doubts :P Seeing as I have a girl hammy and a boy hammy I thought I would show all of them puzzled readers as to the difference between a male and a female.

So below is a super flattering picture of Eve and Dexter.
No they do not look comfortable, but this is the only way to check the sex.

Females

  • Girl hamsters have rows of teats on each side of their belly.
    These can be tricky to see but if you gently hold your hamster like in the picture below, you should be able to get an idea as they create a fleck in the fur.
  • You should also be able to see the lady-bits between the hind legs

Males

  • There is no sign of flecking in the belly-fur
  • You can see the butt and the hammy-manhood (circled in the picture below)
  • The butt is a noticeable and prominent bulge around the tail area. Take a look at the picture below and notice how the female is flat across the hind legs whereas the male has the bulge. You can sometimes tell whether it is a by looking from above this butt bit is so characteristic.

Eve (female) is on the left and Dexter (male) is on the right.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Apart from checking the underbelly of your hamster, there really isnt any other way to know the sex of your hamster.
If you still are really unsure of the gender of you hamster, then take him or her to a vet and they will be able to tell you for sure.

Hope this has helped :D


If you clicked “still unsure” on the poll above, I may still be able to help!
If you can take a well-lit photo of your Syrian hamster in the same position as Eve and Dexter above, and email it to me at hamsterdiaries@yahoo.co.uk I shall take a look at get back to you. You could also end up seeing your photograph on one of my upcoming posts as I plan on doing a more thorough post on how to tell the gender of your hamster – and of course I will need hammy volunteers for this!
Make sure you follow via email to see when this post comes out. You won’t want to miss it after all of this! :D

Hopefully see you soon!
xx

Categories: animals, Care, FAQs, Hamsters, Health, Pets | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “How can you tell whether a hamster is a boy or a girl?

  1. This is something that everyone should know – especially pet shops – how often have people taken home a ‘boy’ to end up with oodles of babies too! Super post.

    • Very very true. I have hear dmany stories of taking a new hamster home and ending up having a litter a few mornings after! Thankfully I havent had that worry! As well as that, my friend took home her ‘boy’ hamster, called him Gary, and then found out Gary was actually a lady! She couldnt shake the name though :’)

  2. I remember having the same issue with my guinea pig when I was young – called “him” Harold, and then found it difficult to name “her” Haroldetta… :)

    • Hahahahaha Haroldetta doesnt exactly have a ring to it, but then names just do stick after a short time :P It might grow on me :P haha, Ive always been made aware of how tricky it can be sometimes to sex rodents becuase they can be very deceiving at times. But hopefully this little diagram will clear a few peoples minds up :P

  3. My belly looks a lot like Eve’s, but a little bigger, since I’m a dog. Mom had a box turtle named Mr. Speedy in her classroom for a long time. One summer, Mr. Speedy laid an egg. She didn’t change his name, though.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Awww, bet you dont like being held in that position either! Eve didnt half squirm! AHAHAH, Mr Speedy laid an egg! Thats quite funny :P I found that with most people, they dont/cant bring themselves to rename them :P Think it gives them a bit more personality.

    • So i guess it’s ms speedy now!😜 well that name doesn’t change but it’s funny that she laid an egg!

  4. Easy to tell on rats – their gonads are MASSIVELY MASSIVE!!!!!!!
    Dexters eyes are soooo big and beautiful and Eve is such a pretty girl! aaaaaaaaaaaw!

  5. Hahaha, that would make telling the sex a hell of a lot easier ! :D Poor hamsters and their puny-private parts :’) haha, I actually laughed so hard when I first took this photo, coz he looks like a little alien. Thing was in this position, every picture I took, he looked the same! Arse out, eyes bulging! ehehe, the things that crack you up when you havva pet!

  6. Our Mummy can easily tell whether a guinea pig is a little boy or a little girl but so many people get it wrong. Its not like cavy boarly parts are small and subtle either! ;)

    Mummy’s friend had a long haired hammy called Cynthia. Strangely Cynthia turned out to be a Ciydney after a vet check up. The long hair made it very difficult to tell!

    Mummy also had a friend with guinea pigs. While cuddling Cruella it was discovered that it was it fact a Gnasher.

    Not to mention the budgie called Barney until it tried to lay an egg!

    It’s just lucky whee are called girls names after the luck Mummy has had!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    • Whee meant whee are lucky that whee AREN’T called girls names! Silly Mummy typed it wrong!

      xxxx

      • Aww see ive never been in the situation to examine wee piggies that closely before :P Hahhaa there seems to be so much more of this that I thought, I suppose long-haired hamsters are harder to check, especially to check for teats on the females – so thats a understandable mistake.
        Haha, you all have wonderful names! :D

  7. jeffry

    this helps me a lot .. haha .. now i know that my 2 hamsters are both male .. im wondering if why my 2 cuddly hamster dont mate .. in surprised .! OMG :) one will them will be develop as a gay 1 hahahaha :D

    • hahaha whatever makes the little furries happy eh :D hehe, glad this has helped you out. Any further questions feel free to contact me :)

  8. Thank you for stopping by.

  9. Pingback: 10,014 Views, 94 Countries, 186 Posts, 1,616 Comments, 18 Videos And Counting… :D « Hamster Diaries

  10. Erica

    Is there any way that I can make my boy a bit more tame? He literally poops on me the whole time when I pick him up…

  11. Beautiful Buttons

    My hamster has a males parts apart from the big bum thing. Can someone tell me what if my hamster is a he or a she. I am confused

  12. Tyler Rempel

    Please help my hamster had babies and it is time to put them into gender groups and lots of the hamsters have holes close together like a girl but no visible nipples

  13. I have a female hammy but i think u should make a video of how to tell if your hammy is pregnant cause i think mine is!😳

Squeak up folks! What do you think??

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

